# GOVERNORS STATE UNIVERSITY HUMAN RESOURCES COMMITTEE

#### Minutes of the October 10, 2014 Meeting

#### Lorraine Tyson, Chair

# CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

The Human Resources Committee of the Board of Trustees met on Friday, October 10, 2014 in Engbretson Hall at Governors State University. The meeting was called to order at 9:15 am by Committee Chair Lorraine Tyson. Committee members Brian D. Mitchell, Eileen Durkin, and Bruce N. Friefeld were in attendance, as well as Trustees Jack Beaupre, Patrick Ormsby, Anibal Taboas and Student Trustee Jeremy Joyce.

Others present: Elaine P. Maimon, President: Deborah E. Bordelon, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; Gebeyehu Ejigu, Executive Vice President and Chief of Staff; Alexis Kennedy, General Counsel; Karen Kissel, Vice President for Administration and Finance; Will Davis, Vice President for Development; Maureen Kelly, Director of Governmental and Community Relations; Rashidah J. Muhammad, Faculty Senate President; Sheryl Jones-Harper, Civil Service Senate President; Lisa Wallace, Student Senate President; Colleen Sexton, Associate Provost; Ann Vendrely, Associate Provost; Reinhold Hill, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences; Ellen Foster Curtis, Dean, College of Business and Public Administration; Elizabeth Cada, Dean, College of Health and Human Services; Aurelio Valente, Interim Vice President for Student Affairs; Faculty Senate Representatives Vickie Person and Xinghua Gao; and David Dixon, Internal Auditor.

Committee Chair Tyson welcomed Faculty Senate Representatives Vickie Person and Xinghua Gao.

#### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Tyson requested a motion to go into Executive Session. Durkin made a motion to go into Executive Session pursuant to Section 2(c)1 and 2(c)11 of the Illinois Open Meetings Act to discuss personnel and litigation. Friefeld seconded. Roll call was taken and Mitchell, Durkin, Friefeld, Beaupre, Ormsby, Taboas, Tyson and Joyce were present. The Board went into Executive Session at 9:16 am. Kennedy remained with the Board.

The Board returned to Open Session at 10:10 am by a motion from Mitchell and a second from Friefeld. Roll call was taken and Mitchell, Durkin, Friefeld, Beaupre, Ormsby, Taboas, Tyson and Joyce were present. Tyson reported no formal action was taken in Executive Session.

# **INFORMATION ITEMS**

Mitchell, Civil Service Merit Board representative, had nothing to report. Tyson reported the Board has completed its presidential assessment and shared it with President Maimon.

# **ACTION ITEMS**

Tyson requested a motion to approve the minutes of the May 9, 2014 Human Resources Committee meeting. Durkin made a motion. Mitchell seconded. The motion was approved by unanimous voice vote.

# Resolution 15–06: Award of Academic Rank and Tenure to Dr. Andrea Evans

Tyson requested a motion to approve Resolution 15-06. Durkin made a motion. Friefeld seconded. Bordelon explained that Dr. Evans became Dean of the College of Education on August 1, 2014, and that she has a distinguished record of teaching, publication, performance, and presentation, as well as an outstanding record of academic leadership and university and community service. A roll call vote was taken and Tyson, Mitchell, Friefeld and Durkin voted aye. There were no nays. The motion carried.

#### Resolution 15-08: Approval of Personal Day for Non-Negotiated Employees

Tyson requested a motion to approve Resolution 15-08. Friefeld made a motion. Mitchell seconded. Maimon explained this item is brought before the Board each year in order to provide the same benefit to our non-negotiated employees that those with negotiated contracts are afforded. There were no questions. The motion was approved by unanimous voice vote.

#### PUBLIC COMMENT

There were no requests for Public Comment

Tyson requested a motion to adjourn. Durkin made a motion. Friefeld seconded. The motion was approved by unanimous voice vote. The meeting of the Human Resources Committee adjourned at 10:31 am.

Respectfully submitted,

Joan Johns Maloney